His Strength

“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” – ‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭12:9‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  

Encouraged and blessed once again with the life of the Apostle Paul. As he shared about the things that God had shown him, one thing he’s realized is this: God had allowed him to see his weakness by giving him a ‘thorn in the flesh’ that he may be kept from becoming proud. And although my situation is unlike what the full context of this text fully elaborates, there’s a bit of the principles that made me reflect on this and somehow relate to it.

When I’m sick and fully unable to function, I feel useless – much more than a filthy rag! That’s exactly what I’ve been feeling for days now. I feel like my purpose of existence was put to waste. I’m never comfortable about it. I have gotten used to the strength I’ve always had, thinking that it was what enabled me to keep going. But it wasn’t mine.. It was His. It was God’s. And it’s only by His grace that I’m able to move forward in everything I do in this life.

His strength is made perfect in my weakness because it is in my weakness that I learn to surrender to Him without reservations. It is during the hard and broken times, whether physically or emotionally, that I learn to see my desperate need of Him. It enables me to shift my eyes towards Him rather than towards the confidence I have in my own strength. It makes me see that it’s HIM and NOT ME! And I admit that it’s never easy but it’s always eye-opening. I’m glad He allows me these down times because each time it happens, He’s taking me a step closer towards more intimacy with Him – something that may have been unachievable otherwise.

Leave a Reply

